Tuesday, June 19, 2007

Dree Football Tourney 2007 kicks off

The much awaited event of the year-'Dree Football Tournament' kicked off on 16th with inauguration by the Chief Guest for the occasion, Shri Nani Ribya, Hon'ble MLA of Ziro-Hapoli Constituency. The people, however, resented him for being the Chief Guest, when he is the Chairman of the CDFC Ziro by default, being local MLA.

As was expected, the shifting of tournament venue from 'Subansiri Stadium' Hapoli to 'Dree Ground' Old Ziro had it's toll on the turn out of spectators. But, nevertheless, crowd of around 5000 gathered at Dree Ground braving the drizzly weather, which could have turned to heavy downpour, to witness their 'Hot Favourite'-Hari Sports Club and the 'Hot Contender' for this year's trophy-Diibo Sports Club battling out in the inaugural match.

Inaugural Match-16th June 2007

The match started at around 2.30 pm instead of the scheduled 2.00 pm and both the teams could not break the deadlock till the end of the game and match ended in a draw.

Day 2-17th June 2007

Match 1

The second game of the event was played between Diibo Football Association and the club of yesteryear players-1948 Sports Club. The veterans couldn't match their pace with the youngsters and was beaten by Diibo Football Association with a final score of 6-0.

Match 2

The second match of the day was battled out between the defending champions-Sojang Lapang Sports Club (SLSC) and All Hija Sports Association (AHSA). SLSC downed AHSA by 3-0.

Players of AHSA and SLSC in action

Day 3-18th June 2007

Match 1

Bulla Sports Association (BSA) was beaten by Siiro Sports Club by three goals to nil.

Match 2

Hari Sports Club downed 1948 Sports Club by three goals to nil.

Update: The final of the tournament has been rescheduled to 30th June.


Post a Comment